Staff Highlight: Karen Peacock

We want the community to meet our staff, one person at a time. We are now featuring monthy staff highlights in which Brooks employees answer questions about their careers, future goals, and more! So without further adieu, meet Karen Peacock, ABC Coordinator and Art Therapist.

Where did you grow up?
I moved around a lot, but if I had to pick one place…Tupelo.

What did you study in school?
I have a Master’s in Art Therapy from Pratt Institute, and a B.A. in Art from the University of MS.

What do you do at the Brooks?
I am the Art Therapist, as well as the ABC Coordinator and Instructor. I just completed an art therapy collaboration with Youth Villages, which culminated in an exhibition that opens this week (My ‘losophy: Gaining Perspective Through Art Therapy).

What is your favorite thing about the museum?
I like that the museum is constantly evolving and open to new ideas like art therapy. I think adding innovative programs such as the Art Therapy Access Program helps the museum fulfill it’s goal of “Transforming lives through the power of art”.

Leave a Reply

