Doodling: Turns Out it May Be a Good Thing

Remember in high school when you were reprimanded for doodling in class? I definitely do. I recall getting in trouble often for this foul and my parents never thinking it was bad; probably to my then-teacher’s frustration. In fact, my parents promoted doodling; they turned their offices into galleries adorned with my drawings, professing the future artist of their loins.

I’m not promoting misbehavior in any way, but as much as I rebelled against my creative being, it always crept back into my life. Either in the way of Manic Panic and weekly trips to Sally’s, working at M.A.C Cosmetics, attending Saturday school at Memphis College of Art (followed by Taco Bell with my grandparents every time!!) and eventually majoring in Art History-the one class I dreaded taking as a freshman.

I find it strange that I didn’t realize my wonderful fate until adulthood and that I fought it so hard – it was right in my face the entire time. Now I work in an amazing institution with other creatives like me where doodling is encouraged!

One thought on “Doodling: Turns Out it May Be a Good Thing

  1. My doodling was definitely not encouraged by my school teachers. I try to be mindful of that, now with my students. I was sent to the principal’s office when I drew all of my notes for physical and chemical reactions in the sixth grade (I included a drawing of a boy and girl kissing as a physical response to a chemical reaction;-) and was told I had to sit in the back of the class!?! after that. After that class and the response that it generated, I didn’t show my notes to anyone anymore. Saturday School at Memphis College of Art and my occasional stroll through Brooks Museum on my way to my grandparents became my relief and refuge.

    I was a docent at Brooks for a number of years before deciding to become a teacher. As a docent, it always felt that my job was to introduce people to my friends, which were the paintings in the Museum’s permanent collection. Even now, when I visit the Museum, I feel compelled to walk through and visit my old friends.

Leave a Reply

