The Mid-South Scholastic Art Awards: A Student’s Perspective

2012 Best Portfolio Kyle Owens “Commitment”

The Mid-South Scholastic Art Awards has been something I’ve looked forward to every year of high school. I always try to greatly improve my artwork and advance my concepts to enter for the following year. Winning a gold key is so exciting, and the chance to have my work in an exhibition at the Brooks is such an unbelievable opportunity.

2010 Best in Show, Senior Division, Kyle Owens, “Alone . . . “

I can remember my art teacher looking at some of my work during my freshman year and telling me about Scholastic. He advised me to do a piece specifically for it. I wanted it to be better than anything I had previously done. This resulted in me obsessing over one drawing the entire semester only for it to not win anything. After this, I began working much harder with art and striving to be better. Soon everything I did involved art. I was constantly thinking about it and just wanted to be the best I could possibly be.

“Forgotten” (this painting also received an American Visions nomination), Kyle Owens

Now I’m in my senior year in high school and have won several Scholastic awards the past three years including “Best-in-Show” my sophomore year, “Best Drawing” my junior year, and “Best Portfolio” this year. These accomplishments have been such an honor and I’m very grateful that there is a contest like this that honors all the young artists around the Mid-South.

2011 Drawing Award, Senior Division, Kyle Owens, “Vanity”

Next fall I plan on attending Memphis College of Art while continuing to hone every aspect of my art. Hopefully after college I will be able to make a living doing what I enjoy the most and continue doing so for the rest of my life.

-Kyle Owens

Leave a Reply

