Two of Our Favorite Things: Art and Cake

Piece of Cake, 2008 (Credit: PDX/dessertgirl)

While perusing one of my favorite websites for dinner (really, dessert) ideas, bonappetit.com, I came across this amazing article about a well-known Memphis artist and Brooks favorite, Greely Myatt. Now, admittedly I found this article because I really wanted to make cake for dinner, but alas was distracted by the mere visual of the delectable dessert.

Piece of Cake, 2008 (Credit: PDX/dessertgirl)
Greely Myatt

I am reminded of Wayne Thiebaud and his paintings of sugary things. My husband doesn’t have an art background, and while we were watching Psych, I noticed two paintings by Thiebaud in the background of an apartment scene. (I love showing off!) This re-sparked my interest in Thiebaud’s work, and it actually was tangible in his gift card set in the Museum Store.

Three Machines, 1963, De Young Museum, San Francisco

It is very interesting to notice themes in artwork, from Antiquities to present, food has always been a constant. From objects used to cook and cut to still life paintings which used food as symbols; art mimics life in the same ways today. Thanks to DessertGirl for posting, and ironically enough, I had cake for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

