Dia de los Muertos: Recap

On Saturday, October 27th, the Memphis Brooks Museum was open, and very much alive, to a day of festivities spirited in the Mexican tradition of celebrating the dead. The families of Memphis’ Latino community and art enthusiasts alike filled the Brooks, honoring Dia de los Muertos with face painting in the Renaissance galleries, skeletons reanimated through sculpture on the lower level, and outside on the terrace – several stunning performances from local Latinos preserving their heritage through sound and dance. It was a lot to maneuver, and I surely would not have picked this day to wear my 3 inch penny loafer heels with a particularly constricting skirt if I had known I would be entrusted to photograph the event! But it is with opportunities like this, and involvement in the art community, that I love my new job at the Brooks. Here is some evidence of both.

This blog is written by Elizabeth Murphy, On-Call Admissions Coordinator for the Brooks.

Leave a comment